Friday, September 1, 2017

Malaysia Stamps - 150 Years Straits Settlements Stamps Provisional Issue - September 1, 2017

Penang Island (Prince of Wales Island) and Seberang Perai (Province Wellesley) were parts of the Straits Settlements together with Malacca and Singapore. In Penang Island, there are two post offices (Penang Main Post Office at Downing Street, George Town and Dato' Kramat Post Office) with First Day Cover pictorial cancellations. In Seberang Perai, there are three post offices with pictorial FDC chops - Butterworth, Taman Chai Leng (in Perai), Bukit Mertajam. I created these First Day Covers using Pos Malaysia covers and Penang Philatelic Society Souvenir covers with special cancellation of Penang Philatelic Society at the Stamp Show in Udini Square, Penang. Through other collectors, I obtained the First Day Cover of Jalan Laksamana (post office at Melaka historic center) and Labuan which was once part of Straits Settlement too.

No comments: